What is it like to be Black in America?

There’s a lot I can say to answer that question but one way it can be summed up is from this quote: “To be a Negro in this country and to be relatively conscious is to be in a rage almost all the time.” There are alternating feelings. Some are anger, some are fear, some are sorrow. It seems like every other day there is a new story about an unarmed Black person being shot or killed by a police officer or a self-appointed vigilante. As long as I can remember I have been afraid of police officers; every time I see a police car, I get a chill down my spine. This is because I am aware that on the wrong day or with the wrong move, my life could be over. Then there is the negation of our existence. Footnotes in history books, aspects of our culture being appropriated and distorted, contributions being erased or having others taking credit for them. To sum it all up: to be Black in America is for your existence to constantly be negated, minimized, trivialized, devalued, and threatened.

Leave a Reply

